• header_blank
 iaopa europe logo  IAOPA News Report - VFR Flight Plans within Schengen Area 

An AOPA Netherlands proposal to abolish the obligation to submit a VFR flight plan for flights within the Schengen area has been approved.  The relevant regulations will be amended.

You can, of course, decide to submit a flight plan anyway and there may be good reasons for doing so. Where no flight plan is required, it remains a recommendation to submit a flight plan if one wishes to use flight intelligence or alerting services to facilitate a SAR operation.

No flight plan is required for VFR flights to or from a State within the Schengen area unless:

a. the relevant state has a flight plan requirement for VFR flights;

b. the flight crosses the airspace of a state outside the Schengen area;

or c. submission of a flight plan is required by paragraph SERA.4001, part b, subparts 1, 3, 4 and 6, of Regulation (EU) No. 923/2012.

Schengen countries are Estonia, Greece, Spain, France, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Hungary, Malta, the Netherlands, Austria, Poland, Portugal, Slovenia, Slovakia, Finland and Sweden, as well as the Balearic Islands, the Canary Islands, Madeira and the Azores.  schengen map